2018 Australian of the Year Awards – A celebration of innovation in health

Dr Haikerwal
  30 January 2018  NWMPHN   

Congratulations to two of our leading GPs for being recognised at this year’s Australian of the Year celebrations.

Altona GP, Dr Mukesh Haikerwal and North Western Melbourne PHN clinical council member, Associate Professor Morton Rawlin have made outstanding contributions to their local communities, and the wider health sector, over their careers.

Dr Haikerwal received a Companion of the General Division of the Order of Australia. Associate Professor Rawlin was recognised as a member in the General Division.

North Western Melbourne Primary Health Network would also like to congratulate all of the 2018 Victorian award recipients:

  • Victorian Australian of the Year, actor and fundraiser for cancer research, Samuel Johnson.
  • Victorian Senior Australian of the Year, scientist and diabetes specialist, Professor Paul Zimmet.
  • Young Victorian Australian of the Year, campaigner for transgender youth, Georgie Stone.
  • Victorian Local Hero, engineer and prosthetic limb innovator, Mat Bowtel.