About us

We work closely with our partners to provide better care every day, in every way, for the community of central, north and western Melbourne.

North Western Melbourne Primary Health Network (NWMPHN) is part of a nation-wide group of Primary Health Networks (PHNs).

Each PHN aims to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of health services for patients – particularly those at risk of poor health outcomes – and to improve coordination of care to ensure patients receive the right care in the right place, at the right time.

We acknowledge the people of the Kulin nations as the Traditional Custodians of the land on which our work in the community takes place. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present.

We also recognise, respect and affirm the central role played in our work by people with lived experience, their families and/or carers.

 View a map of our region.

At NWMPHN, we achieve our aims by focusing on three main activities.

  1. First, we seek to improve access to general practice and other primary health care, and to improve the quality of care.

  2. Second, we attract and aggregate funding and resources for the region, then allocate these fairly and efficiently.

  3. And third, we address our region’s specific health needs by understanding and identifying health needs, establishing priorities, and planning, advocating and collaborating.

What is a PHN? Watch this video to hear our leaders explain.

Our particular goals are to:

  • respond to local and national priorities to reduce the burden of disease and improve population health outcomes
  • improve quality of care and individual outcomes
  • improve integration and coordination of care across the continuum
  • create a sustainable organisation that is well-positioned to influence the reform of the health care system and take advantage of new opportunities.

We do this by:

  • identifying and understanding the priority needs in our region
  • supporting, developing, innovating, coordinating and measuring service responses to address priorities
  • strengthening and supporting general practice and the system
  • demonstrating a commitment to quality, safety, efficiency, genuine value and innovation in everything we do
  • working closely with government (federal, state and local), general practice and other primary health care service providers, local hospital networks, non-government organisations, the private sector, and patients, consumers and carers.

NWMPHN is an ACNC registered charity and certified by SAI Global for ISO 9001.

Logos: Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commission and SAI Global ISO Certification


Our region’s priority areas

Based on the findings of our Initial Needs Assessment, and subsequent Health Needs Assessment, we have identified seven priority areas of activity. Each priority area has its own unique set of activities that address the specific needs of our community.

Would you like to work with us?

Are you passionate about improving primary health care for everyone in our community? Visit our Careers page for more information and a link to our current vacancies.