30 January 2018

Congratulations to two of our leading GPs for being recognised at this year’s Australian of the Year celebrations.

Altona GP, Dr Mukesh Haikerwal and North Western Melbourne PHN clinical council member, Associate Professor Morton Rawlin have made outstanding contributions to their local communities, and the wider health sector, over their careers.

Dr Haikerwal received a Companion of the General Division of the Order of Australia. Associate Professor Rawlin was recognised as a member in the General Division.

North Western Melbourne Primary Health Network would also like to congratulate all of the 2018 Victorian award recipients:

  • Victorian Australian of the Year, actor and fundraiser for cancer research, Samuel Johnson.
  • Victorian Senior Australian of the Year, scientist and diabetes specialist, Professor Paul Zimmet.
  • Young Victorian Australian of the Year, campaigner for transgender youth, Georgie Stone.
  • Victorian Local Hero, engineer and prosthetic limb innovator, Mat Bowtel.

Read more about the award recipients.

Subscribe to NWMPHN

Keep up to date with the latest news and publications, funding opportunities, careers and upcoming events at NWMPHN.

Want to collaborate with us?

Share your thoughts on how the primary health care system can be improved in North Western Melbourne.